La historia de los premios Ondas

The Ondas Awards, created in 1945, are awarded annually by Promotora de Informaciones S.A. (PRISA Group) through Cadena SER‘s Radio Barcelona, with the aim of rewarding the quality and popularity of productions, as well as professional careers in radio, television, music and radio advertising. These awards are the oldest in Spain and have the greatest international impact in the communication sector.

Figura Pegaso de bronce premio Ondas.

70 years of ONDAS

More than 60 years ago, Ramón Barbat, the then director of Radio Barcelona, took advantage of a meeting with the directors of Cadena SER to explain the need to recognise a job well done. A good way to do this was by creating national awards, the I Premio Nacional de Guiones, held on 7 November 1953, which a year later became the Premios Ondas, the name adopted from the now defunct magazine Ondas.

In this way, what began as a script competition became, with the passage of time, the oldest and most prestigious radio and television prizes awarded in Spain. A transformation that is also literal, because the statuette that symbolises the awards has undergone up to six changes of form from 1954 to the present day.

Awards Statuettes


The Ondas Awards first took the form of a golden statue of a woman with her arms raised holding a laurel crown.


The prize was a female figure with a laurel branch around her hips.


The figure became a golden eagle on a dome with its wings spread upwards.


A new version of the statuette was created, a silver eagle on a pedestal.


The Ondas Awards became a silver Pegasus.


Awards winners since 1992.

70 years, 6 different statuettes and more than 1,500 prizes awarded afterwards, make the Premios Ondas not just a gala held in mid-November, but much more. They turn Barcelona into a party, “La Fiesta de la Radio”.

The history of the Premios Ondas continues to be written!


Dimensiones Premios Ondas
Official name

Bronze Pegasus Ondas


31 x 28 x 14 cm


4,2 kg


 The statuette symbolising the Ondas Awards has taken on up to 6 shape changes from 1954 to the present day.

How the golden woman became the bronze Pegasus. Today, the official award of the competition symbolises a minimalist bronze Pegasus with outstretched wings ready to fly.


Foneria Artística Vilados S.L, a company dedicated to the artistic casting and creation of statues.

Time of manufacture

Between 2 and 3 months.

Gala Premios Ondas 2023